Embracing Weirdness

Throughout my life I have come up against many challenges related to being considered ‘odd’.

I’m the black sheep of my family, so to speak. Or as I like to call it, the ‘colourful sheep’! 😀 Throughout school, university and in some workplaces I oftentimes felt like a foreigner in a strange land. My destined spiritual path, a path I feel I’ve had no choice but to take, has opened me up to insights and teachings that many realists that I know have rejected or simply weren’t able to grasp. So I learned to keep parts of myself hidden away.

I’ve been told that Im ‘unique’ or that I have an ‘odd disposition’… I’d love to say with absolute thick-skinned confidence that I don’t mind, they’re all just subjective opinions anyway :-p But I am a sensitive sausage, & like many, I’m learning life lessons about not taking things so personally, following my own heart and listening to my intuition despite what others perceive.

~ I’m not alone in this. Are you a weird one?

With practice it is possible to be more accepting and embracing of our weirdness. I personally adore weird people! They are the best kind and must be revered rather than excluded. I have appreciated working in the field of youth and social services as I am constantly in contact with disengaged or wayward individuals in need of understanding and true connection. My personal experiences have unlocked a deep sense of compassion and I’m able to connect in a way that means something.

Some of us weird ones may be acutely aware of a subtle or indeed obvious sense of discord when we try to fit into certain groups. If you’re anything like me, the awareness that you’re not able to fake who you are just to fit in, can be overwhelming. And unless you have the tools to deal with disharmonious emotions or have learned to sit with uncomfortable feelings, self-criticism can rear its ugly head or cause one to recluse out of fear.

It’s good to remind yourself though, that it is truly a gift to be so receptive and able to ‘feel into’ situations. For us sensitive types, we must learn to nurture our sensitivities or ‘weirdnesses’. Make light hearted fun of it and love ourselves no matter what.

A perfect crystal for this kind of emotional healing and one that I wish I’d known about many years ago, is Spirit Quartz (also known as Cactus Quartz /Porcupine Quartz or Fairy Quartz! 🙂 ) from the Magaliesberg Mountain region of South Africa. This sparkly shiny lovely amethyst like stone is all about harmony and alignment with others, relieving feelings of separateness or loneliness in family or group situations and allowing one to find a common ground.

“Spirit Quartz promotes the spirit of cooperation, group consciousness, and a willingness to put aside the self in favor of the higher good. It tempers those who tend to be self-centered, confrontational, egoistic or anti-social, and assists those with a fear of social situations to be more open and friendly.” [Ahsian, 376]

We are all inherently beautiful, divine by birthright and on our journey of unfolding and learning. We may be weird to some, but we can also be kindhearted and purposeful in our mission to contribute to the world in the best way we know how.

So, are you a weird one?!

If so, feel it. Embrace it! Weirdness is wonderful 🙂

Love and blessings 🙂

Starchilddreamer
Xx

http://www.facebook.com/starchilddreamer

20131206-122317.jpg

Fairy Spirit Quartz is all about peace and harmony 🙂

This entry was posted in crystals, emotional healing, healing, journey, Spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embracing Weirdness

  1. Totally know how you feel when trying to ‘fit in’! ‘Fitting out’ is much more fun 😉

Leave a Reply

